Joining a Mommy Group

I don’t know about other stay at home moms and dads out there, but I go crazy without any adult company all day. I love my kids to death, but speaking to other parents is always a nice relief. This is for a few reasons. Firstly, like most parents, you might wonder if other people are having the same issues as you are having (for example, an older sibling showing aggression toward their younger brother/sister). Secondly, small talk with another adult is necessary to keep your sanity! Thirdly, it gives your kids a chance to interact with other kids before they start attending preschool. And lastly, it helps you make friends with other couples that have kids. My husband and I didn’t have many friends with kids when Kaya was first born, and that took a toll on our social lives. Let’s face it, people without kids just don’t get it.

image

I am lucky enough to have found an english-speaking mommy group called ‘Mums & Tots’ her ein Warsaw (stay at home dads also welcome, but these are a rarity). Membership is free and to join all you have to do is send an email to the postmaster.  There are different weekly activities on different days, and volunteer coordinators for each activity. Today, for example is arts and crafts monday, so we attended a butterfly-making lesson at the coordinators house. On Thursdays we go to Mini-music, which is a meet-up where we sit in a circle wiht our children and sing popular kids songs together, doing the hand movements with them as well (‘Wheels on the Bus’, ‘Itsy Bitsy Spider’, etc). I myself coordinate a Mom’s night out event on a monthly basis, which is exactly what it sounds like, Moms meeting up for dinner and a drink one Friday a month while our other halves stay home with the kids.

Without this organization, I think I would have lost my mind already, especially in the winter months. I think every mom/dad who stays at home wiht their kids should try something like this out, and maybe even organize your own group if you can’t find one in your area. I guarentee you would not have a problem rounding up other parents to join.

Leave a Reply

