Spirulina Shakes for Picky Eaters

Kaya (my two year old) has become quite a picky eater as of late. I’m not panicking because I know that at her age, that is pretty standard. Though it is still extremely frustrating, especially when I go out of my way to make fresh, healthy meals that she refuses to so much as taste.

I think one of our issues is over-snacking. Kaya eats a lot of nuts and fruits throught the day, and this might be ruining her appetite. Sometimes I think about  curtailing the amount of snacks she consumes a day. I don’t know, however, if I’m strong enough to say ”no” to giving her a few almonds or a mandarine when she asks me for them.

My latest method to getting Kaya to eat is to have her drink her food- meaning lots of shakes! So far, this has been working very well. When my pleas to having her eat a bowl of  oatmeal or a slice of french toast for breakfast are turned down, I can always count on Kaya drinking her daily spirulina shake. If she refuses to eat anything for lunch, I quickly make some kind of a fruit shake, getting her involved in throwing things into the blender, and she consumes that as well.

image

What is Spirulina, you may ask? It is an algae powder that is incredibly high in protein and nutrients. It is harvested from alkaline waters, and is one of the most potent nutrient sources available.  It is made up of protein and essential amino acids- great for vegetarians!

Here are some health benefits:

  • 65% protein and amino acids (containing all essential amino acids)
  • Contains omega 3, 6, and 9’s
  • Has a high concentration of iron that does not cause constipation
  • High in chlorophyll, which removes toxins for blood and boosts immune system
  • Contains vitamins B-1, B-2, B-3, B-6, B-9, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin A, and vitamin E. Also contains potassium, calcium, chromium, copper, iron, magnesium, manganese, phosphorus, selenium, sodium and zinc.
  • Honestly, there are many more health benefits of the stuff, but I think you get the picture! If you want more details, check out this wikipedia link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spirulina_(dietary_supplement)

Here’s the recipe for the daily spirulina shake I make for the family:

YUMMY SPIRULINA ENERGY SHAKE (serves 3-4)

-3 bananas

-1 kiwi

-1 teaspoon of honey

-3 tablespoons of spirulina powder

-1 cup of oat milk

Toss all the ingredients into the blender and blend away! Give your toddler a colorful straw to drink from and they’ll love the stuff!

Also, if you have a picky eater as well, please share any awesome ‘secret weapon’ recipes!!! 🙂

image

One thought on “Spirulina Shakes for Picky Eaters

Leave a Reply

