First Physical Therapy Visit

It has now been 10 days since my ACL reconstruction surgery. I left my house for the second time since surgery  for my first offical physical therapy session today. I say ‘official’ because a physical therapist came into my room post op at the hospital in order to show me how to get around on crutches and a couple simple exercises to do at home.  I was really looking forward to today’s session, mostly because it would get me out of the house. I was also curious to see what a third party would say about my knee.

The first thing the physical therapist, Tomek, did was give me knee a serious rub down. Unfortunately, my knee is still quite swollen and he explained that a vigurous rub would help take that down a notch. It actually did not hurt, just felt a bit…well, strange. I had an urge to kick him off, but mostly because it felt funny. Then he rubbed around my scars to keep them from closing up, which hurt like hell.

Tomek also taught me how to use my crutches properly, seems that I’ve been doing it wrong all along. I hadn’t been putting any weight on my operated knee, and I should be. He also demonstrated the few exercises to do at home. I was surprised at how light they are. I was expecting something more intense, but I suppose I should not be doing anything more active until the swelling goes down. Or at least until my doctor draws the blood out of my knee on Tuesday….eeek!

All in all, I am pumped for more physical therapy sessions,as I can tell this one helped already. The swelling has gone down a bit and I feel that I am getting closer to losing the crutches for good. I think it also helps to see a physical therapist mentally. It’s nice to have a professional tell you everything looks alright, and answer the billion questions I have about recovery. Lastly, having a very good-looking and young physical therapist like Tomek doesn’t hurt either :))

 

Leave a Reply

